The trust board

The trust board

The trust is led by chair Dusty Amroliwala and chief executive Elizabeth McManus, supported by full-time executive directors and part-time independent non-executive directors appointed by  NHS Improvement.

The executive directors are responsible for the daily running of the hospital and together with the non-executive directors who make up the board have collective responsibility for setting the strategic direction of the trust, ensuring its achievement against performance targets and upholding high standards of governance and probity.

The board's role is to: 

  • set the strategic direction of the trust within the context of government and  NHS priorities
  • monitor the trust’s performance against its objectives
  • provide financial stewardship through value for money, financial control and financial planning and strategy
  • ensure the trust provides high quality, effective and patient focused services
  • ensure high standards of corporate governance, personal conduct and compliance with statutory duties.
  • ensure there is effective dialogue with the local community about our plans and performance and ensure that these are responsive to their needs. 

Accountable officer

Accountable Officer, Northmid

David Sloman
Accountable officer *

North Middlesex University Hospital is a clinical partner of the Royal Free London (RFL) group which is providing support to improve our services. 

The RFL is one of four trusts across the NHS to be chosen to develop a group model enabling it to share services and resources more effectively across hospitals in order to improve the experience of patients and staff. 

Under the partnership, Sir David Sloman, RFL group chief executive, is accountable officer at NMUH.

Sir David Sloman was appointed as the chief executive of the Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust in 2009. He was formerly chief executive of the Whittington Hospital NHS Trust and before that he was chief executive of NHS Haringey.

Sir David has spent his career in healthcare management, most of it in the NHS, although he worked for a number of years in the private healthcare sector. Sir David was knighted for services to the NHS in the Queen's 2017 New Year's Honours.

Executive directors

Click on the image to view the biography. The pictures may take a while to load,  depending on download speed. 

Elizabeth McManus
Chief executive *

David Stacey
Director of finance *

Dr Kevin Cleary, 
Interim medical director *
(picture and biog coming soon)

Rachel Anticoni

Chief operating officer

Deborah Wheeler
Director of nursing *

Richard Gourlay
Strategic development director *

Peta Poynton
Interim director of human resources
(biog coming soon)

Melanie Whitfield
Interim director of 
organisational development
(picture and biog coming soon) 

* = voting board member

Chair and non-executive directors

Dusty Amroliwala OBE

Chair *

Dr John Hurst
Non-executive director *

Alan Palmer
Non-executive director *

Graham Coles
Vice-chair & senior independent
director *

Mehboob Khan
Non-executive director     

Dalwardin Babu OBE
Non-executive director *

Page last updated: October 2017