Equality, diversity and inclusion

Equality, diversity and inclusion

As a public authority we have legal requirements under the Equality Act 2010 to promote equality with due regard to the protected characteristics of:


  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender re-assignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity,
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation


The Equality Act 2010 creates a new general duty on the NHS, when carrying out their functions to have due regard to:

  • The need to eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • The need to advance equality of opportunity between persons who share a relevant protected characteristic and those who do not
  • The need to foster good relations between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and people who do not

The Equality Act 2010 provides protection from “prohibited conduct” for groups of people with protected characteristics. Examples of prohibited conduct includes, direct discrimination (including combination discrimination), indirect discrimination, discrimination by association, discrimination by perception, harassment and victimisation.



Page last updated: January 2018